Que padre Mexico!

I also visited Mexico City last month, it was my first time in Mexico and I had high expectations for the ‘authentic Mexican food’ and it did not disappoint! But I also learned that Mexico is so much more!!

IMG_20170510_231952_054

Soumaya Museum in Polanco

Where did I stay?

I stayed at the Marriott Reforma (again, this was a work trip, so the hotel is not super affordable) The location of the hotel was great with almost everything walking distance.

How to get around?

Uber!! Make sure you download the app. It’s the preferred option for locals and visitors alike, and you’ll instantly have a chance to interact with the locals — who by the way are the friendliest people you’ll ever meet and are full of great recommendations.

What to eat?

TACOS!! I had authentic Mexican food at El Bajio restaurant (Reforma 222 mall , really close to the hotel!) and it was delicious. BEWARE that Mexican food is much much spicier than the tacos you have at home, so talk to your waiter about your spiciness level that you are comfortable with and enjoy! Oh and by the way, try everything else in the menu too!

What to do?

I did not have a lot of time to explore during my visit to Mexico, but got recommendations to the hop-on-hop-off tourist bus service for first-timers to the city, have also heard great things about the Frida Kahlo museum. Go for dinner and a show to beautiful Polanco (the Lion King musical is playing!)

My favourite part of the trip:

Honestly my favourite part of Mexico was the people I found. I felt completely welcome and surrounded by friends even when I was travelling by myself, everyone offered me a smile, recommendations or help without hesitation and I made many friends in just three short days. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

